Can you get another Database?

Web page creation, programs, scripts, PHP, SQL?

Moderator: Moderators

Can you get another Database?

Postby Steve » Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:09 am

Can you?
Steve
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:08 am

Postby Matej » Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:15 am

In general - no.
Why do you need it?
User avatar
Matej
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2002 12:28 am
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Postby miker_alpha » Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:16 am

Undetailed queries breed undetailed replies:

Construe.

MikeR
Look for OpenVMS help on my webpage
Check for QOTD here.
Image
User avatar
miker_alpha
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 9:20 am
Location: Kibbutz Tzora, Israel

Postby zoli » Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:59 am

hi,

why do you need that.

Just huge applications that needs to logically separate data content with complicate locking and load sharing needs might need that.

In general, one database with good design and table naming convention would do the job in almost every "polarhome" application case.

You can get yet another database if you have a good reason for it.
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 760
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby miker_alpha » Wed Aug 10, 2005 10:28 pm

Sorry - I did'nt understand whether the O.P wanted another MySQL database, or a different type of database altogether (like ISAM, or RMS...) :oops:

MikeR
Look for OpenVMS help on my webpage
Check for QOTD here.
Image
User avatar
miker_alpha
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 9:20 am
Location: Kibbutz Tzora, Israel


Return to Web development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron