There may be light ...

Linux, Unix, Windows..

Moderator: Moderators

Postby DenisF » Mon Jul 05, 2004 1:40 am

... at the end of mandrake@polarhome's tunnel :)
[finally some good news]

I think the picture iv'e attached is pretty much self-explainatory of why i'm starting this thread :)

Look at the pic before reading further!!!

Now, i know that the working one ain't an ace in hosting, but it's a start :) and it performs quite well actually.
even if the cpu doesn't have any L2 cache - it's still faster than the rest.

Anyway, all of this was made possible because of very good people here in Israel who support the effort of polarhome, and wanted mandrake back up.

Now, i'm willing to chip for a 10gig drive should you dear folks desire to have mandrake up again, but the memory won't suffice for a Mandrake10 server, maybe i'll manage to squeez mandrake 9.2 in those poor 32 megs, but i'm not sure. It will need more ram to have any kind of functionality.

As always, the decision is up to you [democracy flows in my blood.. lol]
Image
[ FAQ ] :: [ Policy ] :: [ Port Forwarding Guide ] :: [ Search ]
User avatar
DenisF
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Israhell

Postby sjaz » Mon Jul 05, 2004 9:12 am

*BSD Server 2 me thinx.
User avatar
sjaz
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby jagar_freebsd » Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:40 am

That Pentium looks promissing. . .
Take cdrom drive, nic, 2.1 seagate HDD put it into pentium and see what happens.
Celeron's ram is too small, if you get 64ram, may be okay.
But every body knows that celeron is waaay tooo faulty than pentium.
i know few people that uses celeron.(seems that it likes crashing somehow)
It was only my opinion. . .
And Good Luck, am crossing my fingers . . . :D
>>>Laugh<<< is a life energy.
User avatar
jagar_freebsd
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 4:40 am
Location: Missouri, US

Postby DenisF » Tue Jul 06, 2004 12:15 pm

That's the problem with the pentium though. lol the damn thing crashes after a couple of minutes
Iv'e marked all the other boards as 'faulty' for a reason you know :P

The celeron, however, passed a 6 hours burn-in succesfuly, didn't hear a single complaint..
it was damn hot but i have a 80mm fan pointing directly at it now, should have no issues.

What i'm waiting for is Z's opinion on this.. he's le`boss after all
Image
[ FAQ ] :: [ Policy ] :: [ Port Forwarding Guide ] :: [ Search ]
User avatar
DenisF
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Israhell

Postby afonic » Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:20 pm

Gi ahead and install Mandrake 9.2, it should be fine.
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby DenisF » Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:47 pm

Ok I have an idea

since the MDK10.0 setup bluntly refuses to boot on anything less than 65mb [yes, 65mb, essentialy forcing one to use 96mb+ on the machine] i'll just put the ram sticks from my pc in it for the install proccess.

Damn i'm good... lol

That machine will be in much pain without some extra ram, though
Image
[ FAQ ] :: [ Policy ] :: [ Port Forwarding Guide ] :: [ Search ]
User avatar
DenisF
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Israhell

Postby jagar_freebsd » Tue Jul 06, 2004 10:01 pm

desperate it engineer. :(
end of the tunnel looks darkkk.. . . .
>>>Laugh<<< is a life energy.
User avatar
jagar_freebsd
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 4:40 am
Location: Missouri, US

Postby DenisF » Thu Jul 08, 2004 7:57 pm

I took the liberty to install redhat 7.3 on it with current specs.
... and i can understand why mandrake refuses to boot with less than 65mb of ram.

Even if the swapfile was on a seperate, faster harddrive - it was slow as hell.

Here's the deal; with it's current status, this server will be more of an agony than any use, what we [well.. i] need to get it working properly is;
  • <span style='color:red'>RAM
    Either 1x128mb, OR 2x64mb sticks of SDRAM, PC66</span></li>
  • <span style='color:red'>HDD
    Only has 2.1gb</span></li>
RAM - i'll need someone to either donate some cash, or better yet - the sticks
HDD - i have a friend who's selling his old pc, i'll buy a new[old] HDD for it, but that's about the end of my financial reserves for it.

So basicly, the only things that are holding the re-launch now are Zoli's approval and ram.
Image
[ FAQ ] :: [ Policy ] :: [ Port Forwarding Guide ] :: [ Search ]
User avatar
DenisF
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Israhell

Postby sjaz » Thu Jul 08, 2004 8:51 pm

Its just a shame its capped at 12kb/s (or was ?) internet connection also. Id donate ram if i had some :s
User avatar
sjaz
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby DenisF » Thu Jul 08, 2004 9:49 pm

Yeh my line's capped at 12kb/ps

But think of it this way, the current polarhome servers have a 1mb upload line, which is split between 80k~ users on 10 machines.
I have 96k which is almost always unused :)
Same thing if you think about it

And i appriciate the thought about the ram :)

The server is up with 128 megs of ram [borrowed] until the order arrives.
<a href='http://mandrake.polarhome.com' target='_blank'>http://mandrake.polarhome.com</a>
Image
[ FAQ ] :: [ Policy ] :: [ Port Forwarding Guide ] :: [ Search ]
User avatar
DenisF
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Israhell

Postby jagar_freebsd » Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:41 am

Your line m8 feel some traffic when ppl get accounts.
But right now nade.
@DenisF why don't you go a head and list some prices in your area.
I have 10gig Maxtor HDD trashing in my room. but shipping fee is more expensive than new 40 gig HDD :fox:
so i prefer cash.
:: Promo :: Ppl polarhome needs you now, cast your kindness :: /Promo ::
>>>Laugh<<< is a life energy.
User avatar
jagar_freebsd
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 4:40 am
Location: Missouri, US

Postby DenisF » Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:53 am

I'm not gonna buy the ram localy, prices here are over the roof [40$ for a poor stick of 128mb, over 50$ if it's a brand name]

I'll most probably turn to my best friend, eBay.

I can probably get 128~256mb there for 20~30$ inc. shipping
maybe even 128x2 should funds allow
EDIT
24$ for one stick of 128mb, or 45$ for two.
if 2~3 more people donate, this show will be on the road
/EDIT


And the HDD, well since it's a friend of mine he still owes me for building and maintaining all 6 of his PCs, he'll give me the 10gig rather cheap. don't think more than 50$.


BTW,
As token of appriciation, anyone who donates will get a shell account on mandrake once it's fully up.

Donations so far; 43$ [minus 4$~ paypal fees]
Donators;
  • Jagar</li>
  • Evgeny</li>
  • Zoli</li>
  • afonic</li>
Thanks ALOT folks!
Image
[ FAQ ] :: [ Policy ] :: [ Port Forwarding Guide ] :: [ Search ]
User avatar
DenisF
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Israhell

Postby Matej » Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:14 am

Damn. If only you had started this thread a week ago. I switched from SDR to DDR and I had 512 of 133 MHz SDRAM to give away. Sadly i sold It some time ago. :(

I still have one pc that I hardly use. It's a 400 MHz Celeron (I think) with 64 Mb of SDRAM and I also have loads of other fancy stuff that computers have in my work shop. The shipping of the whole thing would be 2expensive but perhaps just the ram and(or) CPU.

Contact me over ICQ and we'll have a talk.
User avatar
Matej
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2002 12:28 am
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Postby DenisF » Fri Jul 09, 2004 11:51 am

Heh, if only id'e get a replacement mobo for the C300 a week ago ;)

I'll catch ya on ICQ a bit later, gotta go get the harddrive now

Thanks in advance :)



[PS,
512mb would be kinda too much, it only supports 128mb per slot, ie 256mb max]
Image
[ FAQ ] :: [ Policy ] :: [ Port Forwarding Guide ] :: [ Search ]
User avatar
DenisF
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Israhell

Postby zoli » Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:45 am

hi,

I (polarhome) have both... should I send you a 128Mb SDRAM or some donation?
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby DenisF » Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:54 pm

I answered by mail zoli :)
Image
[ FAQ ] :: [ Policy ] :: [ Port Forwarding Guide ] :: [ Search ]
User avatar
DenisF
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Israhell

Postby DenisF » Tue Jul 13, 2004 3:16 am

Alrighty ladies and gentleman
I'm 5$ short from getting 256mb

Any last-minute acts of goodness?

EDIT
Ok, ram ordered, thanks again for everyone who donated!
The system will be full-speed within 2 weeks
Image
[ FAQ ] :: [ Policy ] :: [ Port Forwarding Guide ] :: [ Search ]
User avatar
DenisF
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Israhell

Postby DenisF » Tue Jul 20, 2004 3:06 am

Um..

The server has been up for.. what.. 2 days?

And already i see break-in attempts on ssh =\ *g*
Image
[ FAQ ] :: [ Policy ] :: [ Port Forwarding Guide ] :: [ Search ]
User avatar
DenisF
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Israhell

Postby DenisF » Tue Aug 03, 2004 2:27 pm

Gah, fucking awesome

Looks like the server will use 128mb for a few more days (weeks?)

Just got the ram, and one stick was missing from the package :@
by the looks of it, someone opened it up before me.
Tomorrow i'll go to the post office and try to do something about it.
Image
[ FAQ ] :: [ Policy ] :: [ Port Forwarding Guide ] :: [ Search ]
User avatar
DenisF
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 9:09 pm
Location: Israhell

Postby afonic » Tue Aug 03, 2004 8:18 pm

Why don't you just go and buy stuff like that form a computer shop? The price difference should not be that great!
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Next

Return to Operating systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron