auto boot on VAXstation 90

Linux, Unix, Windows..

Moderator: Moderators

Postby zoli » Tue Aug 31, 2004 5:26 pm

hi,

I could ask MikeR directly, but it is good to have a public reference.

Q: how can I achieve automaic boot from boot device on VAXstations 60. I can define fast boot, default boot device, but it still waits for an B to start the boot sequence.

Thank you in advance.
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby sjaz » Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:36 pm

MikeR is elite :D
User avatar
sjaz
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby miker_alpha » Wed Sep 01, 2004 10:05 am

:rolleyes: /me blushes...

If you mean a VAXstartion 400 - 90, well I dont have one of those.
BUT
for a VAXstation 4000 - 60, which is very similar - at the >>> prompt (i.e. with the system down)
Code: Select all
 >>> SHOW HALT
>>> SET HALT 2

where :
HALT 1: after system failure (crash) system attempts restart and then reboot
HALT 2: Automatic reboot
HALT 3: System halts after powerup, and stops at >>>
NOTE: Automatic reboot will only work if there are no errors during system self-test (SCSI is properly terminated, NIC is connected or terminated, etc.)

HTH
MikeR
Look for OpenVMS help on my webpage
Check for QOTD here.
Image
User avatar
miker_alpha
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 9:20 am
Location: Kibbutz Tzora, Israel

Postby miker_alpha » Fri Sep 03, 2004 4:50 pm

There is apparentlly a known problem with certain versions of NETBSD on VAXstations, which mung the autostart ROMS:
> > > this is a case of the infamous rom munching that happened as a result of
> > > a mis-probe for a DZ11, (right?)... something in the netbsd autoconf
> > > probes would walk on some addresses which in a 4k90 were in the rom, and
> > > in just the right mode so as to clobber them. The problem is not fatal,
> > > though we dont know how to fix a broken rom. it doesnt seem to break
> > > anything except autobooting- the monitor will find an error and halt,
> > > instead of autoboot.. manually booting will work fine.
> > >


There is a HW-level fix by somehow reloading the ROMS, but its beyond my ken.

- Hope this is'nt what happened to you!!

MikeR <_<
Look for OpenVMS help on my webpage
Check for QOTD here.
Image
User avatar
miker_alpha
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 9:20 am
Location: Kibbutz Tzora, Israel

Postby zoli » Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:52 pm

MikeR,

thank you for competent answer - sorry for late reply.

Our VAXStation 4000 -90 does report some "??" during boot - but I always ignored them, because it does work well.

I'll try SET HALT 2 durinf the weekend (also plan to upgrade TCPIP packet to get full SSH support)
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby miker_alpha » Sun Sep 05, 2004 12:43 pm

Check the diagnostic light against the attached JPEG file, or post the line starting ? or ??, and I'll try to find out what it is...

MikeR
Look for OpenVMS help on my webpage
Check for QOTD here.
Image
User avatar
miker_alpha
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 9:20 am
Location: Kibbutz Tzora, Israel

Postby zoli » Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:45 am

hi,

sorry for late reply...
Unfortunately, when I came to the situation to reboot the VAX, I often do not have paper/pen available or the situation is quite urgent that I do not have time at all to think about these issues...

But last time, when I moved the whole polarhome to UPS power, I wrote down the boot errors (you see... if nothing else I can manage to keep a TODO task in mind for years)

Here it is:
Code: Select all
?? 003 3 DZ  0112
?? 000 8 SYS 0512


It does not have any meaning to me, but I live in hope that Miker can decode it.
She's an VAXStation 4000-90A
Thank you in advance.
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby miker_alpha » Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:28 pm

First the good news:
The DZ error (probably) means that the VAX is setup to use a graphic console, and there is no mouse connected. To solve: Look for a switch labelled S3 on (I think on the back, near network connections) Change the S3 switch and power down for ~10 seconds. (This switch is only read at power-up)

The bad news:
The SYS error indicates something wrong in the system module. For a system under maintanance contract, the tech person just exchanges the module, and the old module goes to computerized diagnostics (in Holland, IIRC)
I don't suppose vax.polarhome has a HW support contract???

Disclaimer: I am *not* a HW person, and the information above is from searching the VAX problem DB. I've asked around for any further explanation/information; If anything comes up I'll post here.

Also: Any POST error with two '?' signs is 'serious', so the VAX will not restart automatically

HTH
MikeR
Look for OpenVMS help on my webpage
Check for QOTD here.
Image
User avatar
miker_alpha
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 9:20 am
Location: Kibbutz Tzora, Israel

Postby zoli » Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:07 pm

Mike,

Thank you very much for you comment and documentation.
It does use graphics console, mouse is plugged in and works perfect... it must be something else.

And it does not have any maintenance contract any more... it is an old retired test machine from Essnet AB. But because Essnet does not have any customer that runs Lottery application on VAX it has been thrown out - fortunately in fell in my garden :)

VAX works very good serving lot of users and Vim editor development on VMS, among other.

Autoboot is needed just when power is instable.
Fortunately, this problem is solved with recently installed UPS.

So we are on safe side again - with or without autoboot.

Regardless, I really appreciate your effort and shown knowledge.
Thank you.
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden


Return to Operating systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron