Polarhome's official 'post your pc specs' thread

Hard and soft ware discusion.

Moderator: Moderators

Postby uroskn_redhat » Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:10 pm

This is my box:

AMD Athlon 64, 3 GHz
300 GB Hard drive
1 GB DDR Ram
GeForce 7300GS
DVD/RW
802.11 G wireless card
You cant fail unless you quit.
User avatar
uroskn_redhat
Junior Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:50 am
Location: Slovenija, Slovenske Konjice, Kajuhova X ;-)

Postby davido » Sat Jun 24, 2006 10:34 pm

My config:
Samsung 763MB monitor
Athlon XP 1800+
200GB + 80GB HDD (Samsung, Maxtor)
512MB 133MHz SDRAM :D
GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128MB
RT2500 WiFi card
SBLive 5.1, TV card ("Hauppauge"?)
+ a lot other USB stuff :)
WinXP MCE

Server:
without monitor
PII 333MHz
8GB HDD (Quantum Fireball)
256MB 133MHz SDRAM
RT2500 WiFi card
Ubuntu 6.06 Linux

--

And I'm 16 if you want to know :P
davido
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:38 pm

Postby afonic » Sun Jun 25, 2006 8:58 pm

Ubuntu rox! :D
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby hu8_debian » Thu Aug 17, 2006 10:10 pm

Acer FP 558 monitor
Pentium III with 800mhz
1*512mb sdram + 2* 128mb sdram
ATI Rage Fury 64MB (graphics)
40gb + 30gb hdd

the pc is about half as old as me :oops:
and I'm 15...
hu8_debian
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 6:18 pm
Location: Wien

Postby Matej » Sat Aug 19, 2006 9:18 pm

I did some funky stuff with my box. :D

Intel Core 2 Duo (2x2.4 Ghz)
Asus P5W DH Deluxe (http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?mode ... l2=11&l3=0 crazy stuff!)
2 GB GoodRam DDR2 6400 800 Mhz
Power LC6550 550W silent power supply
WD 320 SATA2 + 200 GB Samsung IDE + DVD burner
Creative SB Live! 24bit
Asus x1600XT Silent
CHIFTEC Dragon case
19'' Samsung SyncMaster 193p+
Running OSX Psst! :wink: :wink:

Really amazing performance. 8)
Last edited by Matej on Sat Aug 19, 2006 11:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Matej
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2002 12:28 am
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Postby afonic » Sat Aug 19, 2006 11:31 pm

Wow nice mate! :D

Although getting a Mac would be cheaper I think. :P
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby Matej » Sun Aug 20, 2006 12:00 am

Nope. It's 1/2 the price of the top model iMac (since I already had the LCD and some other stuff) an more that 1/3 faster acording to benchmark tests. :P
User avatar
Matej
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2002 12:28 am
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Postby afonic » Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:12 am

Actually I have quite changed my PC since the first post too.

AMD Athlon64 3000+
Chaintech VNF4 (nForce4 Ultra)
1GB Kingstone RAM (2x512)
nVidia Geforce6600GT PCI-E
LG Flatron L1915S [19" LCD]
2x Seagate ST3200826AS (200 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA) - Ubuntu and Data Storage
1x Western Digital WDC WD800JB-00FMA0 (80 GB, IDE) - Windows
A Plextor DVD-Reader and CD-Writer and a NEC DVD-Burner
Thermaltake Soprano Case
550watt Chieftech PSU

Dual boot WindowsXP SP2 and Ubuntu 6.06 of course! I need that Windows for stuff like Counter-Strike and Warcraft3, you feel me... 8)
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby zoli » Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:00 am

It was time to replace my kitty - a HP Omnibook 6100 - that I have used since 2001.

The new choice is:

Intel Pentium M Core Duo 1.66 GHz (T2300)
HDD ST9100824AS (SATA, 100.0 GByte)
224 MB Intel 950GMA graphic adapter
12.1" WXGA-Display
1024 MByte RAM
DVD+-RW Double Layer Slim-Line drive (external FireWire; 8x DVD-+R, 4x DVD-+RW, 3x DVD-RAM, 24x CD-R, 10x CD-RW, 12x DVD, 24x CD-ROM)
USB 2.0 (Intel)
Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5789 Gigabit ethernet
Intel Pro Wireless 3945 WLAN (802.11a/b/g)
FIR-Chip (2nd serial interface)
Bluetooth 2.0
Firewire (IEEE 1394) Texas Instruments
Sound Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) HDA
PCMCIA (Texas Instruments)
5in1 Card Reader (Texas Instruments; for SD,MMC,MS,MS PRO and xD)
1.3 Megapixel Webcam (USB)

... yes, her name is Acer TravelMate 3012 WTMi :)

I'm missing the serial inteface and it is quite a hassle to make FC5 running on it - but I'll survive.
Last edited by zoli on Sun Sep 10, 2006 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby zoli » Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:12 am

also... a curiosum - a new box in my home (not yet a polarhome box)

I offer a bottle of good wine (posted from sweden) to first poster who knows (or guess right) what is it. :)

Hints:

Code: Select all
~ > uname -a
Linux [DELETED] 2.6.9 #1 Wed Jun 14 18:10:32 CEST 2006 ppc unknown
~ > cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
cpu             : STBx25xx
clock           : 252MHz
revision        : 9.80 (pvr 5151 0950)
bogomips        : 250.88
machine         : [DELETED]
plb bus clock   : 63MHz
~ > cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal:        30152 kB
MemFree:          3464 kB
Buffers:          1264 kB
Cached:           7376 kB
SwapCached:          0 kB
Active:          18580 kB
Inactive:         3144 kB
HighTotal:           0 kB
HighFree:            0 kB
LowTotal:        30152 kB
LowFree:          3464 kB
SwapTotal:           0 kB
SwapFree:            0 kB
Dirty:               0 kB
Writeback:           0 kB
Mapped:          17708 kB
Slab:             2328 kB
Committed_AS:   103096 kB
PageTables:        252 kB
VmallocTotal:   475136 kB
VmallocUsed:     29796 kB
VmallocChunk:   442860 kB
~ > df
Filesystem           1k-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/root                 3520      3520         0 100% /
/dev/mtdblock/1           1792      1408       384  79% /var

Last edited by zoli on Sun Sep 10, 2006 3:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby sjaz » Sun Sep 10, 2006 9:39 am

Its an IBM Power PC ...

Triple Play Set top box ? (STB)
User avatar
sjaz
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby afonic » Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:13 pm

zoli, try Ubuntu if you have hardware trouble!

It kicks (Mandriva's) ass. Seriously.

:P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby dillona_aix » Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:26 pm

I'm going to guess that is is an HP iPaq or other small handheld.
If an iPaq, I would say the Familiar Project might be your distro of choice.
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
dillona_aix
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 9:05 pm
Location: USA

Postby afonic » Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:22 am

Runs on PPC kernel and uses this chip?

http://www-306.ibm.com/chips/techlib/te ... ontrollers

Is it a satelite / digital TV receiver? Using MontaVista linux?
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby sjaz » Mon Sep 11, 2006 9:18 am

I so said set top box first!
User avatar
sjaz
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby afonic » Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:17 pm

We don't know that "set top box" here in Greece. :P
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby zoli » Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:26 pm

:) you are both right...

It is a set top box - a DVB satellite reciever.
Dream Multimedia's DM-500S - the "dreambox".

It is the cheapest model in its class, but it's a real dreambox, indeed.

telnetable, ftpable, firmware upgradable, connection to k* sharing networks etc.

I really enjoy to hack this box.

OK, well, who deserves the bottle of wine now? :)
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby sjaz » Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:36 pm

I was so first!!!
User avatar
sjaz
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby afonic » Mon Sep 11, 2006 9:16 pm

sjaz was first, although I honestly found out what it was without understanding what sjaz meant! :P

It was just Google though!

Just for the history, does it have the Linux I mentioned above pre-installed?
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby zoli » Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:03 pm

... no. It runs a dream media own linux.

sjaz: please pm me your address (if you want to get a Rioja red wine from 2002) - otherwise I will be forced to open the bottle myself :)
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PreviousNext

Return to Computers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron