Alpha down?

Troubleshooting with your custom scripts/programs installed on Polarhome.

Moderator: Moderators

Alpha down?

Postby papa » Wed Dec 09, 2015 4:39 pm

I can't connect to Alpha using ssh, telnet, or http (web).

Gotta get my VMS fix!
David "papa" Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@ alpha | ia64 |debian | netbsd | redhat | vax
User avatar
papa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Japan Takarazuka

Re: Alpha down?

Postby zoli » Wed Dec 09, 2015 5:54 pm

Yes... it is down.
I need to migrate the SYSTEMDISK to a bigger one - hope it will be back in a day or two... until that you may use the VAX.
The IA64 is also down - because it uses far too much eletricity. It is up just on (usually my) demand.
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Alpha down?

Postby papa » Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:47 pm

I guess it's time to sign up for a VAX account.

With Deathrow cluster down "until further notice" (R.I.P.) Polarhome is one of the last sites with public VMS. (with Decuserve the last two?)

I forget, do I have to submit another signed application form for an additional shell account, or can I just send payment and an e-mail?
David "papa" Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@ alpha | ia64 |debian | netbsd | redhat | vax
User avatar
papa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Japan Takarazuka

Re: Alpha down?

Postby zoli » Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:31 pm

you must be kidding with me? ...a polarhome admin does not need any application, payment etc.
Please, create your account and just let me know :)
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Alpha down?

Postby papa » Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:13 am

Thanks, Zoli! (I should be doing more to pull my weight. :oops: )

I've created papa@vax as a template account. Please upgrade it to shell.

I have also sent a small donation via PayPal (I hope it is not too inconvenient for you to convert JPY currency).
David "papa" Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@ alpha | ia64 |debian | netbsd | redhat | vax
User avatar
papa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Japan Takarazuka

Re: Alpha down?

Postby zoli » Thu Dec 10, 2015 8:10 am

Your VAX account is upgraded to shell access.
Please do not forget that use telnet for the very first time because of the preexpired passwords.

Thank you for the donation too.
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Alpha down?

Postby papa » Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:33 am

Thanks! I will try it out when I get home from work.

And good morning. :)
David "papa" Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@ alpha | ia64 |debian | netbsd | redhat | vax
User avatar
papa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Japan Takarazuka

Re: Alpha down?

Postby papa » Thu Dec 10, 2015 2:30 pm

I'm in!

Regardless of what one thinks of the hardware series, "VAX" is a cool name. 8)
David "papa" Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@ alpha | ia64 |debian | netbsd | redhat | vax
User avatar
papa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Japan Takarazuka

Re: Alpha down?

Postby papa » Fri Dec 11, 2015 2:29 am

... And Alpha is back up now, too! :o Thanks, Zoli! :D
David "papa" Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@ alpha | ia64 |debian | netbsd | redhat | vax
User avatar
papa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Japan Takarazuka

Re: Alpha down?

Postby papa » Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:11 am

Alpha is up, but I am now getting "Access denied" in response to logging-on with my ID and password. Has my account been locked, or the password reset?
David "papa" Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@ alpha | ia64 |debian | netbsd | redhat | vax
User avatar
papa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Japan Takarazuka

Re: Alpha down?

Postby zoli » Sat Dec 12, 2015 10:41 am

[quote="papa"Has my account been locked, or the password reset?[/quote]
Of course not. This server just went through a system disk change and there might be some problems with permissions - but all accounts that I own - with and without privilege - work.
Please let me know - and I reset your password.
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Alpha down?

Postby papa » Sat Dec 12, 2015 3:02 pm

OK. I'm in now. Don't know why it wouldn't work before.

Plus ultra ...
David "papa" Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@ alpha | ia64 |debian | netbsd | redhat | vax
User avatar
papa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Japan Takarazuka

Re: Alpha down?

Postby papa » Wed Dec 16, 2015 2:15 pm

Logging-on to ALPHA is working fine (Thank Zoli!), and the main web page on ALPHA is up, but when I try to open my personal web page, http://www.polarhome.com:763/~papa, the page for papa@RedHat (http://www.polarhome.com:793/~papa/) (not me) opens in my browser.
David "papa" Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@ alpha | ia64 |debian | netbsd | redhat | vax
User avatar
papa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Japan Takarazuka

Re: Alpha down?

Postby papa » Wed Dec 16, 2015 2:19 pm

(P.S. If there's ever another purge of inactive user IDs, I will try to snag papa@redhat for my collection. 8) )
David "papa" Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@ alpha | ia64 |debian | netbsd | redhat | vax
User avatar
papa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Japan Takarazuka

Re: Alpha down?

Postby zoli » Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:10 pm

Hi,

seeme there are two problems

papa wrote:personal web page, http://www.polarhome.com:763/~papa, the page for papa@RedHat (http://www.polarhome.com:793/~papa/)

Have you checked your page at alpha? Seems for others it works perfect as it should without redirection.

papa wrote:If there's ever another purge of inactive user IDs, I will try to snag papa@redhat for my collection.

Yes you're right. This account is created back in 2004 and never used.
It is yours now (I copied the user record from jdm )
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Alpha down?

Postby papa » Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:12 pm

zoli wrote:Have you checked your page at alpha? Seems for others it works perfect as it should without redirection.

My ALPHA page opens fine from other Polarhome hosts. Also, it opens fine from outside Polarhome if I specify the URL all the way to .../index.html or end the directory with a slash, .../~papa/. I only get redirected to RedHat when I end the URL at the directory level without an ending slash, .../~papa

It is yours now (I copied the user record from jdm )


Thank you. You give excellent service!
David "papa" Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@ alpha | ia64 |debian | netbsd | redhat | vax
User avatar
papa
Senior Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:55 pm
Location: Japan Takarazuka


Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron