An ircd question

Irc, Eggdrop, BNC problems and discusion.

Moderator: Moderators

An ircd question

Postby Spy » Fri Feb 03, 2006 2:25 pm

Well, first of all I want to greet you all:
:arrow: Hi :)
I have just sent a letter to obtain a shell at Debian server and now I`m waiting for any kind of a reply. :)

So the question is:
:arrow: Will it be possible for me to compile and run a PTlink ircd here? (I heard of some problems with hdd and cpu quotas)
So if it is:
:arrow: Will I be able to link my server to the polarhome irc net?

Thanks in advance.
-- $py
If you want something done well - do yourself.
Spy
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:52 am
Location: Russian Federation, Stupino

Postby sjaz » Fri Feb 03, 2006 5:26 pm

Hi, installing PTLink should be fine as quotas have been increased. The only issue I can forsee is not having the irc ports range due to single IP. It would work using a range of ports on debian though. (not 6667 etc).
User avatar
sjaz
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Spy » Fri Feb 03, 2006 5:46 pm

So you`re saying that my daemon should listen to different ports rather than 6660-6669? Did I get you right?
And how about linking it then to the network? AFAIK, it will be impossible if the ircd versions are different, is it?
If you want something done well - do yourself.
Spy
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:52 am
Location: Russian Federation, Stupino

Postby afonic » Fri Feb 03, 2006 8:21 pm

Yes, you need to use other ports, the ones accessible from the internet in Debian.

Have a look here:
http://www.polarhome.com/service/ports.html

The Polarhome IRC network is pretty much dead so linking to it would be pointless.

PS. Welcome To Polarhome!
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby Spy » Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:41 pm

Hi afonic.
Welcome To Polarhome!

Though my letter has not yet reached the destination, thank you :) .


Is this what you meant? :
Code: Select all
Server                Open ports
debian.polarhome.com  30000-34999


The Polarhome IRC network is pretty much dead so linking to it would be pointless.

Well, ok. And will I be able to invite some volunteers as my net`s co-admins if any? I mean, I really like Irc and I need and want to practice irc admining pretty much.
If you want something done well - do yourself.
Spy
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:52 am
Location: Russian Federation, Stupino

Postby afonic » Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:04 am

Hi,

yes you have to use one of these ports for your ircd in order for it to be accesible from the internet. Then, you can just give a gate.polarhome.com:xxxx address to everyone and they should be able to connect.
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby Spy » Fri Feb 10, 2006 8:57 pm

Hmm. Thank you. But if something changes (i`m on the stage of choosing the ircd ATM) is there a way to check if my ircd exceeds the quota or not? I mean, It would be nasty if I spend a lot of time studying the configs etc and then it turns out that the server I got used to can`t be compiled at the shell.
If you want something done well - do yourself.
Spy
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:52 am
Location: Russian Federation, Stupino

Postby sjaz » Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:39 am

With a 50MB quota you should be able to install any IRCd. Your config's etc will be very small and won't exceed the quota if the actual ircd compiles.
User avatar
sjaz
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:08 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Spy » Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:11 pm

Hmm.. I get this error while making the ircd:
Code: Select all
virtual memory exhausted: Cannot allocate memory
make[1]: *** [s_conf.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/s/spy/tmp/Unreal3.2/src'
make: *** [build] Error 2

I have Debian Sarge r0 at home and this ircd compiles just fine for me. Is that what I was afraid of?
If you want something done well - do yourself.
Spy
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:52 am
Location: Russian Federation, Stupino

Postby afonic » Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:05 am

Seems like you used up all the system memory. (or the memory you are allowed to use, I am not sure if zoli is using something like that).

Please email support@polarhome.com for assistance.
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby zoli » Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:14 am

hi,

there are process quotas set for users - means that you really reached your process memory quota.

I'll try to raise today.

Please try again.
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby Spy » Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:53 pm

Thank you Zoli, but it didn`t help :( . I cleaned the make and reconfigured it. As the result the same error at the same point. Maybe I should contact the maintainers and ask if it can be someway "lightened" or can be compiled in parts?
Hmm.. I recompiled it at home: The peak of processor time usage falls on those few seconds after including conf.c and after that the compiling continues to run with less pt expenses.
Damn, it would be just wonderful to have it compiled. AFAIK it does not require much resources when run, but it unfortunately does when being compiled.
I`m sorry for bothering you with my troubles but it is the nicest ircd i`ve ever seen and it has been kinda dream for me for the last few months...
If you want something done well - do yourself.
Spy
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:52 am
Location: Russian Federation, Stupino

Postby afonic » Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:22 pm

Well if zoli raises memory quotas there's a good chance it will work. Try again.

PS. zoli, maybe you can just install a .deb file for that and make it available as a precompiled program to all users like eggdrop?
User avatar
afonic
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:11 pm
Location: Salonica, Greece

Postby Spy » Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:51 pm

afonic,
Zoltan mailed me saying that he had already done so and that I should try again. I tried and then posted here.
PS. zoli, maybe you can just install a .deb file for that and make it available as a precompiled program to all users like eggdrop?

Hmm.. It is a solution, but there is pretty much to be fine tuned only during the configuration before making that will not be able to be changed anymore. And there is a possibility to compile custom modules (which is very perspective) only having the sources and the make rule.
If you want something done well - do yourself.
Spy
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:52 am
Location: Russian Federation, Stupino

Postby zoli » Wed Feb 15, 2006 4:34 am

hi,

it failed on as (address space) quota limit. Now it is OK.
Regards,
Z
---
Zoltan Arpadffy
zoli
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby Spy » Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:07 pm

Zoli, thank you, it compiled ok. But when I try to start the ircd I get the following output:
Code: Select all
The OS enforces a limit on max open files
Hard Limit: 100 MAXCONNECTIONS: 1024
Fix MAXCONNECTIONS

And the ircd does not start.
If you want something done well - do yourself.
Spy
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:52 am
Location: Russian Federation, Stupino

Postby dillona_aix » Thu Feb 16, 2006 2:24 pm

Hi,
This is probably not what you want to hear, but you will need to recompile. From the source directory do make distclean, then ./configure.
After ./configure, edit the file include/config.h line 56 (on the source I am looking at) and change it from:
Code: Select all
#define HARD_FDLIMIT_   600

to:
Code: Select all
#define HARD_FDLIMIT_   100

Then proceed as normal. You can use the same config. You may also need to edit your Makefile, but try this first. I dont mean to be discouraging, but when I was working on an IRCd a couple of months ago, it was in the docs to do this.
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
dillona_aix
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 9:05 pm
Location: USA

Postby Spy » Thu Feb 16, 2006 4:12 pm

dillona_aix,
Thank you, but I fixed it yesterday and just failed to post here. :)
So:
The problem was in the pre-make configuration. During the config process the default value of the maximum file descriptors (connections) was 1024. Set to 100. Now everything works. Thank you for the help. :)
BTW, come visit my server at:
gate.polarhome.com:30666
If you want something done well - do yourself.
Spy
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:52 am
Location: Russian Federation, Stupino

Postby Spy » Tue Feb 21, 2006 11:01 pm

Hello, me again :)
How do I set a crontab for my ircd?
If you want something done well - do yourself.
Spy
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:52 am
Location: Russian Federation, Stupino

Postby dillona_aix » Wed Feb 22, 2006 4:20 am

Hi,
I am not firmiliar with the UnrealIrcd program, so here are some general crontab instructions.
1: Run "crontab -e". This will bring you into an editor (probably vi). If you are fimiliar with enviromental variables this can be changed with EDITOR;
2: Add an entry for the program/script to execute. Syntax is:

Code: Select all
*     *   *   *    *  command to be executed
-     -    -    -    -
|     |     |     |     |
|     |     |     |     +----- day of week (0 - 6) (Sunday=0)
|     |     |     +------- month (1 - 12)
|     |     +--------- day of month (1 - 31)
|     +----------- hour (0 - 23)
+------------- min (0 - 59)

Example is:
Code: Select all
30     18     *     *     *         rm /home/someuser/tmp/*

If you want to learn more, go to: http://www.adminschoice.com/docs/crontab.htm
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
dillona_aix
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 9:05 pm
Location: USA


Return to Polarhome IRC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron